So as some may already know, those being the three of you that read this, today is my birthday.  To be specific, it is my 23rd birthday.  Not sure what else to make of the day, other then the fact that I am a year older, and somehow that translates into being more experienced, however, that remains to be seen.

Reflection is something we sometimes tend to take for granted.  As humans, we have the ability to recollect and reanalyze, constantly being given the opportunity to fix, make better, and in some lucky instances, change our circumstances.  It is this ability to react to past experiences and reflect that I am so thankful for.

Sounds odd doesn’t it?  Being thankful for something so simple.  But see that is the rub, as people we sometimes forget the things we have that will in the long run better us as individuals.  Today on my birthday, if I have never taught you anything, let your gift to me be that you understand the amazing opportunity you have been given to be alive and be able to change your circumstances, regardless of how deep you think you really are.

I myself have come out of some interesting situations, taking with me the experiences and applying them to future situations, so that the outcome is never the same and gets better with time.  Their is no such thing as failure, failure should be renamed to opportunity.  When Thomas Alva Edison invented electricity, it took him over 5,000 times to get it to work.  When asked how he felt about having failed so many times, he replied: “My boy I didn’t failed, I just succeeded at figuring out 5,ooo ways not to do it”

I know this isn’t like me to get so emotional and psychological, however, I felt like this was necessary; throwing some perspective at you is always a good thing.  Do not take for granted the things which you have been given, tools within yourself, that will make your life a better one.  Reflection is an amazing ability we have, don’t lose sight of that.

To all those that wished me a happy one, thank you.  I appreciate every single one, and rest assured, my life in the last few months has seen some significant improvment.  This is thanks to the many people in my life.